Acupuncture, Chinese Herbs, and Tiffany’s

Today is cycle day 17 and I am 99% sure I am ovulating. You know what that means? I’m ovulating nearly on time again! I used to ovulate on CD 16 like clockwork until this past January. In January, I ovulated a week late and had a 35 day cycle and I attributed it to having a chemical pregnancy that month. But when I continued to ovulate extremely late and have longer and longer cycles I started to panic. I’ve been thinking it was the DHEA, and that may be part of it, but now I think it might have been the Chinese herbs given to me by my traditional Chinese medicine doctor and acupuncturist, Dr. J.

I took myself off of the herbs this month to test this theory and also because I am doing estrogen priming at the end of this cycle and I didn’t want to mess with that. I had my appointment with Dr. J and she just keeps annoying me. She looked at my BBT chart and tried to tell me I ovulated on CD 8, and kept thinking that I am on CD 24 because yesterday was the 24th. Ugh. No. Sometimes I have random dips in my follicular phase. That’s not ovulation. I feel like she doesn’t pay attention and I have yet to see results from her work we’ve paid thousands of dollars for at this point. My husband and I decided that if no eggs grow in this upcoming IVF cycle, we’re quitting acupuncture, at least with her. At least then we know it’s not working. She can keep blaming my weight all she wants.

It sucks because she is near my work which is important because I commute, she has great reviews, and fertility is one of her specialties. I just don’t feel like she is remotely invested.

My husband is from India and his brother’s wife is from China and they all believe strongly in the power of acupuncture and Eastern medicine in general, so I have them all rallying behind me for acupuncture to work and I don’t want to let them down.

I am also thinking of stopping DHEA once I start the estrace this cycle as well. My thought is – I’ve been ovulating really late which is getting my IUI cycles cancelled, so if I can ovulate on time, maybe they won’t cancel the IVF because there will be actual follicle growth.

I am feeling really positive about this cycle, that it will at least produce follicles. That is more positive than I’ve been in a long time. I am lucky that my husband is so supportive and that I have health insurance and some savings to pursue these life goals.

Last week I even bought something baby/child related. We’ve been too superstitious to buy anything. I won’t even work on the blanket I was knitting when I had my ectopic pregnancy three years ago. But I was browsing eBay and I found this child’s plate, bowl, mug set from Tiffany’s circa 1996 and it was such a good deal and so adorable I had to have it. I bought it before realizing what I was doing, but we love it! (Picture stolen online because I didn’t photograph the ones I got but it looks like these.)

tiffanys

Leave a Reply

