We Have Antral Follicles!

Today is CD 3 so I went in for my scan and blood work for this next IUI cycle.

We have four antral follicles!!!

“They are small, we can’t tell if they will grow yet but hopefully they will with the meds.” Okay, I’ll take it!

They also found a 10×13 cyst on one ovary and said it should be okay to start the medication this cycle with a cyst that size, depending on my labs. My labs came back good and I just got the message to start the Menopur today!

Now, I know they may not grow, and I might only end up with one good sized one, and I’m not even expecting this IUI to work, but I am very happy to have four antral follicles! I just am so glad to finally have something go right for a change. And my estradiol is 37, which is better than last CD3 when it was 20. Last cycle, I didn’t get to 37 E2 until CD9.

I mean, I think this is a good thing. I am not really sure. When it comes to estradiol, progesterone, and luteinizing hormone, I am not very knowledgeable about what levels are best. It’s not for lack of trying to learn, either, I just can’t find that many good resources online. (I would like to learn more about IVF protocols, too. I’m an innate researcher and I’m not used to being clueless. I guess because I never thought I’d need IVF I never learned this part well.) If anyone reading this happens to know a good resource to educate myself about IVF protocols and hormone levels, please tell me!

Musings

  1. I don’t know if it was the acupuncture or not that is helping my AFC but it might be. I do know that Dr. J told me that I have stagnant blood in my uterus and ever since I started going to her, my periods have gone from dark and clotted to bright and flowing. Flowing so much they just fly right out of me now.
  2. I am really nervous about doing Menopur IM injections. Everyone says it burns and then the IM needles are huge and my butt is pretty big so I can reach it but my boobs are also big so it’s actually hard for me to reach each side using the opposite arm. My husband is way too afraid of needles to be able to do this himself, and that’s fine, because he works so late and I don’t want him to have to rush home like crazy every night.
  3. The doctor doing my scan remarked that it is hard to see my follicles because of all my large subserosal fibroids. Apparently they cast “shadowing” and fragment the images of my ovaries. Subserosal fibroids are on the outside of the uterus and so none of my doctors have ever wanted to remove them as they don’t impact my fertility. But I really wish we could just remove them now. I mean, how are they going to do proper egg retrievals if they can’t see what they are doing? I guess this is something worth bringing up again – I think they won’t remove them still but I’d like to find out if there is any kind of plan to deal with them during egg retrieval.

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “We Have Antral Follicles!”

  1. Four Antral follicles is great! I believe that was my count when I did IUIs three years ago. Yowzas, Menopur IM injections in the rear. I haven’t done IM injections, just subQ injections. Yes, Menopur has bigger needles and more medicine. I remember the volume of medicine hurting. But I would say the emotional distress that is infertility is much worse. What is your dose of Menopur? Any Gonal-F or Follistim?

    Like

    1. Just the Menopur, 225iu to start. I did Follistim last cycle but no response. The Menopur ended up not hurting at all and now I’m worried I did it wrong. Maybe I’m just one of the “lucky” ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As for your E2 on CD3, the lower the better. Did you get FSH done on CD 3 as well? High E2 (mine was 102 in CD 4) suppresses FSH. As for progesterone 7DPO/7DPIUI a value between 15 and 20 is preferred. One time my prog value at 7DPO was 127 which is way too high. And I was even pregnant that cycle. Not sure about LH, but i think the FSH:LH ratio should be 1:1 if I remember that correctly.

    Like

    1. My fsh was 7 and my lh was 5.5. I was worried about my estradiol because last cycle it started out at 20 and never increased enough. It started to worry me that I’m closer to menopause than I thought.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a really good FSH. That’s odd that estradiol didn’t increase. DHEA and testosterone are precursors to estradiol. Have you gotten those evaluated? Pregnenlone, too, because that is the mother hormone where all hormone activity begins.

        Like

      2. I haven’t had them tested, but my doctor did put me on DHEA a while ago because she thinks I have an egg quality issue. I know that everyone says you can’t increase AMH, and that only taking vitamin D can restore AMH to its proper level if it was appearing low due to low vitamin D. BUT – I found this research study from 2013 that showed DHEA to raise AMH and antral follicles. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0301211513001826
        It’s a small study, and the increases weren’t huge, but they were something.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Some practitioners put little stock into AMH because it can fluctuate. Your FSH is good. I am living proof that AMH can be raised. So are a lot of other women. It is possible. Yes, people say low vitamin D levels can contribute to a lower AMH. My vitamin D was fine. I think my history of DOR was due to not enough thyroid hormone (specifically, T3) getting into my ovaries and eggs. My DHEA is on the higher range of normal, so it wouldn’t make sense for me to supplement. It may make sense for you to take it. I’ve heard DHEA really helps some women.

        Like

      4. Right, I don’t have any thyroid issues. I thought I would because my mother does but I keep getting tested and I’m fine. I do have a gene for DOR my doctor found with a brand new fertility genetic test so I don’t think I’ll be able to reverse things but I hope I can make it less terrible.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

